top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTNC Interners

Experiences of members in our team-Cameron

Welcome back to experience series! Today on the stage, we have Cameron!

  • What have you learned?


Before starting this internship I had very little idea of what Ridge to Reef actually was, so through working with other team members, the TNC team and going through all the resources they provided I was able to see that Ridge to Reef isn’t just about the land and the ocean being connected but there is so much more to it.


As for the work done on my own project, I found myself thinking in the perspective of both student and teachers to come up with a lesson plan that can connect my school’s current curriculum and Ridge to Reef content. I realised the lack of exposure in schools to the Ridge to Reef concept and importance of bringing this concept to students. Before actually starting my project I had to go through a few rounds of proposal and approval with the TNC team like other interns, it was something I didn’t expect but every time I was able to gain new insight and in the end the project plan that had been shaped by everyone really helped me kick start my project in the right direction.


  • How do you feel about this internship so far?


Before taking part in this internship most of the conservation work I’ve done is in the field doing hands on tasks, so this internship has been really valuable for me to learn what goes on behind the scenes and the other aspects of conservation. From talking to the other interns, the TNC team and the Asia-Pacific Leadership Council, it’s been an inspiring journey that has definitely allowed me to explore new methods of environmental protection and encouraged me to be more involved in conservation.


  • If were to do this again, what would you change?


While the freedom we were given allowed us to come up with unique ways to promote Ridge to Reef, I think it would’ve been better if we received some guidelines before brainstorming projects so that we could head in the right direction from the early stages. Also, it would’ve been nice to have a short introductory course when we join the team, because I personally had to learn most of what I know now about Ridge to Reef while working on my project, as I didn’t know enough at the start and didn’t know where to find the resources before starting the internship.



9 views

Recent Posts

See All
IMG-20200821-WA0001.jpg

Hi, thanks for dropping by!

bottom of page